Materials

Señor Weldenough

Good Post Points
Welder
Sealey SuperMig 230, two small stick welders & a plasma cutter
Hi, newbie here, currently in UK, moving to large farm in Spain later this year (when this Covid nonsense is over). Have a big old tractor and a lot of plans to fabricate stuff for it. Have a SuperMig 230, a couple of small stick welders, plasma cutter and every kind of drill, saw, grinder you can think of. But...

Man, steel is expensive. Box section, angle, tube, sheet, plate. I know this is a location specific question but where do you guys source your steel? Am I missing something because the kinds of jobs I’ve priced up will work out more expensive in materials than buying the finished product.

Thanks.

Lennyzx11

Good Post Points
Welder
Hobart MVP210, Hobart Stickmate LX. Lincoln Tombstone AC/DC
Hello from Bennington Vermont USA.
You are right about price of metals!

I go to the local welding shops and buy cutoffs and what is called “drops”. From their scrap bins. It is sold by the pound and cheaper.Almost all my projects are designed around what materials I have or can get this way.
A local scrap yard will sell me stuff by the pound also but they are getting tighter about letting me look around in the yard for good stuff.
That’s my best places so far.

Señor Weldenough

Good Post Points
Welder
Hello from Bennington Vermont USA.
You are right about price of metals!

I go to the local welding shops and buy cutoffs and what is called “drops”. From their scrap bins. It is sold by the pound and cheaper.Almost all my projects are designed around what materials I have or can get this way.
A local scrap yard will sell me stuff by the pound also but they are getting tighter about letting me look around in the yard for good stuff.
That’s my best places so far.