Inexpensive MIG or arc welder.

Good Post Points
Welder
Old Hobart
I had an old Hobart stick welder that finally gave up. We have an older HF 220v mig welder that has long served its purpose. I am no professional welder, only weld occasionally to make something small (like brackets or braces) or to make minor small repairs Usually on very light steel). Now I want to get to make a couple of larger things, like a grader ( land plane), and carry-all. My son does more welding than me, usually for / on his truck.

my question is: should I get a slightly better mig or a stick welder? I don’t know if it is even possible at a budget around $500. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks

Old Irish

Good Post Points
Welder
Lincoln SW200,PowerMig 180, A/C225 with rectifier, 2 Chinese plasma, stick, tig- 1-Chinese stick w/hot start&arc force and 1 Chinese 205A mig