Butt joint stick welding

Lefty

Good Post Points
Welder
Stick, Wire
I'm a novice. I'm going to butt weld two pieces of 1/2" plate. They are 6" wide by 36" long. I'd like to join them to make a piece that's 12" x 36" for a top on a tool stand. I have some 1/8" 6011 and 5/32" 6013. I've never welded material of this size and am looking for some guidance. I'm guessing I'll need to bevel and am wondering if there should be a gap but like I said, this is a first for me. Will I need to make multiple passes? Will these rods work for the application? This is not critical as the tool I'll be putting on the table is not super heavy. I have a 200 amp machine. I have some 2" angle 0.25 thick that I was going to tack perpendicular to the joint to keep the joint stable and the finished product flat. I'm welding on top of a metal table, or at least that's my plan. I'm concerned about sticking the work to the table but I have some spatter spray I could coat the table with. Any guidance is appreciated.

Thank you

Lefty

Good Post Points
Welder
Stick, Wire
Or maybe I can clamp down on my work and avoid the need for tacking the angle perpendicular?

Lefty

Good Post Points
Welder
Stick, Wire
I also have some 1/8" 7018 that I picked up today.

Or now that I'm thinking about it, maybe I should weld the angle perpendicular and tack the weld joint and then move over to some saw horses to weld the joint?

Gary Fowler

Good Post Points
To avoid warpage to the least amount, double V bevel (bevel equally from both sides) and alternate welding the front and back side of the joint. I would use the 7018 as you get much better ductility than with 60xx series rods. You can use a minimal gap if you grind the back side of the weld joint to clean and sound metal before adding the reverse side pass. Also joint gap allowance depends on how much "land "(look that term up is you dont know what it is) you have on the bevel. The thicker the land, the more gap you need in order to get maximum penetration.