Beginner set up

Thirdroc17

Good Post Points
First off, I'm a chicken scratch welder, NOT an expert by any means. You might try watching a lot of youtube videos to see what people are doing. Remember though, a lot of those self proclaimed experts are no more of an expert than I am. Take everything they say with a grain of salt.

The only bit of advice I might give, since I recently got a DC welder, after 50 years of AC welding, DC is the way to go if you can afford it. Though I'm sure the real experts can site a zillions places AC would be the superior choice.

dstig1

Good Post Points
There are other questions to better help get you started. First off what do you need or want to do? Farm repairs? Artwork? Building equipment? Car work? The answer to what equipment varies a lot by what you are looking to do. If you have multiple needs, then you could be looking at 2 or more types of equipment to cover everything. Another big issue is training/learning. Welding is very hands-on and having someone there to show you and help guide you makes for much quicker and less frustrating learning. There may be classes at a local technical or community college you can take. And learning one kind of welding will help you a lot in learning other processes, so whatever you can find for a class will help you in any case. You can come a long way on your own, especially with all the Youtube videos (at least the good ones). Jody at Welding tips and tricks.com is a fantastic video resource. But hands-ion 1-1 help is the best. Also facilities - what do you have available for work space? And of course, good old cash - how much are you willing or able to spend on things?

Thirdroc17

Good Post Points